TripAdvisor – August 19, 2016

the place is nice for a short visit. clean sheets. Basics provided, clean toilets. Nothing lux. But basic and clean. I recommend this when you need to travel midway to Boracay. We booked here because our flight was arriving really late. It was a pretty good choice except that it was far from the airport.

TripAdvisor – July 11, 2016

good for a budget stay. aircon hostel rooms are clean and well maintained with outside comfort and shower room. good customer care from staff. the location is in the center of kalibo proper which is near to most establishment. with free wifi access on rooms.

TripAdvisor – June 10, 2016

People is warm and naturally friendly, hospitable. Room is cozy and just right for my choice. Everything just suit my preference at the time of my stay. The place is located in strategic area so near to the local market, fast food chains and Citi Mall, shopping and schools

TripAdvisor – May 18, 2016

Book a stay here before going to Boracay just in case the flight got delayed (which it did).

Great Price for a Family Room with 6 beds.

Very decent and quiet Hotel Friendly and accommodating Staff.

Close to Church, Aklan Museum and just a tricycle ride to Bakawan Eco Park.

Walking Distance to Century City Mall and Gaisano Mall and Public Market

Will definitely stay here again in future trips to Kalibo.

Note:
Standard price from the airport to any hotel in Kalibo for 100 per trip so make sure you don’t pay more than that.

Same thing going from hotel to the airport.

TripAdvisor – May 2, 2016

This hostel is always our company’s choice for accommodations whenever we visit Kalibo. It is located in the middle of town which makes everything almost within a comfortable walking distance. The staff are always courteous. The room amenities may be basic, but as a hostel, the place actually gives you so much more.

I would always recommend this place particularly to those who plan to stay during the duration of the annual Ati-Atihan Festival. The center of all the festivities is just a short 5-minute walk from the hostel.

TripAdvisor – March 17, 2016

Only stayed here for one night so we could catch our flight the next day. The staff were welcoming and very efficient. No problems with checking in and out. The room itself was very spacious, beds were comfortable. 15 minute drive to airport on tuk tuk. With a big market around the corner (2mins) and McDs & 7eleven (10mins) and of course Jollie Bee (15mins) if you’re looking for fast food.
Unfortunately there isn’t much to do in Kalibo. So I wouldn’t stay here for more than a night, Stayed here 1st March.

TripAdvisor – February 22, 2016

We are supposed to stay in another hotel but since it is already full house, we tried this hostel for a night stay. It was a nice hotel, nice bathroom with hot and cold shower..Proximity of the place from market and malls is a plus. Wifi connection is good at the room too! We’ll definitely will come back!

TripAdvisor – January 18, 2016

We stayed at Ati Atihan Festival Hostel for 7 nights to attend the famous Ati Atihan festival and we are very happy with our choice. The hotel front desk Dennis is super friendly, probably the most cheerful, sincere and helpful hotel staff we have ever met. All other staff are all friendly too. The room is very clean with hot shower, AC, flushable toilet, TV, free drinking water refills, every modern comfort travellers need. The festival parade start is only less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel, the central plaza is within easy walking distance, while it is fairly quiet in the night, even during the festival season. The only downside is they triple the room rate for the festival, yet it seems to be a common practice for all hotels in town. Thanks a lot Dennis for all your kind help and big smiles each day!

TripAdvisor – December 5, 2015

Actually, we visit this hostel in Jan. 2014.

The flight arrive at Kalibo, very late time, for our family (2 adult + 3 kids family), I think it is better staying in Kalibo rather to traveling to Boracay at night.

The room is spacious, beds are big enough(2 queen size beds), and facility is quite satisfactory.
But the floor, somewhat covered dust, it is negative thing.

We cannot use breakfast for there is a ceremony.
But walking distance, there is market, we can buy some bread and fruits.

One night, this hostel will be good choice for your stay in Kalibo.

TripAdvisor – November 16, 2015

The website is quite enticing and the photos of their room are quite nice and project elegance. However, the location is very convenient. The plaza where they hold the Ati-atihan Festival is just 5-10mins walk. And there are a lot of establishments near the area.

Package price is quite reasonable (compared to other inns who offered a much more expensive package). I was just a little disappointed with the “expectations VS reality” part.

TripAdvisor – September 15, 2015

We stayed in the dormitory with six beds. The room was at the second floor with two doors. It has two shower rooms and a bathroom. The room was lovely with a round table and sitting area. We can move freely inside, it provides little privacy but it is understandable as it is designed to house six people in six beds. No double decks. It is also located in the central area so it is not difficult to locate when looking fot it. They also provide meals though we did not dine there since there are alot of options to eat near the area.Overall, our stay was an enjoyable one and all of us had a great time.

TripAdvisor – August 5, 2015

It was comfortable. We were assisted very well. The staff were very respectful, informative and caring. They would answer me promptly with a smile. This is a good hotel, but i would only recommend it for a quick stopover or layover. Nothing more.

TripAdvisor – February 6, 2015

Overall a nice clean hotel, but were a bit dissappointed in the staff’s english skills as they were not able to help us find our way around the town or to local attractions well. Also, the wifi did not work for us which made it very hard to coordinate travel in the area.

TripAdvisor – January 19, 2015

This hostel is located in the middle of town a short walk away from the plaza where the ati atihan parade was going on. the room is spacious and has free wifi. my room had like 86 channels to choose from. the floor is very slippery for some reason, maybe due to the floor cleaner they use. especially the toilet when you bathe the floor can get very slippery.

TripAdvisor – November 15, 2014

We stayed here in October 2014 during one of our research trips in Kalibo. The hostel is located at Toting Reyes St., around 8-minute drive from the airport (refer to the hostel’s website for additional info: http://atiatihanfestival.ph/about/). There was no hassle in our reservation and our request for a room with 3 separate beds was granted (we paid PhP1600.00). The room was spacious with comfortable beds, hot and cold shower in the bathroom, a cable flat-screen TV, telephone and wifi connection without additional fee. The staff were also very polite and did not even charged us for overstay fee when we exceeded the 12 noon check out time. Food may also be ordered (plated, basic Filipino breakfast options like fried milkfish, chorizo, beef tapa) and there were also snack choices at the reception area but no need to worry if you don’t prefer their food options since it is just a walking distance from the Gaisano mall and the Kalibo public market.

Note:
Request for rooms at the upper floors (our room was at the 3rd floor) because it is newly renovated, hence the facilities are fairly new.

TripAdvisor – October 28, 2014

Stayed here last Oct 20-24, 2014, my 2 kids were in Kalibo for the Batang Pinoy Karatedo Competition.. The place was really clean, also the beddings.. It’s located near the market, the mall & tricycles are all over the place.. Definitely worth the stay!

TripAdvisor – September 30, 2014

We’ve stayed here for an overnight for an early flight back to Manila. Room is clean. Although I just wish the air con was in the right place so that the cold will be equally distributed it’s good that they’ve provided an electric fan as well. They might also need to upgrade their television because the room we got is so spacious and if you’re at the other end of the room you won’t be able to watch well anymore. It’s just around 10-15 minutes away from the airport. There are eateries and bakeries in the area but we opted to eat at the fast food nearby. We just rode a tricycle and the fast food restaurants are just around 5 minutes away. I did not have any problems dealing with them since they answered promptly and my requests were met.

TripAdvisor – July 7, 2014

My friends and i went to boracay on the 3rd week of november 2013. And we all know, it was only 2 weeks after typhoon haiyan hit.

We stayed there overnight before our flight back to manila. At first, i was nervous that time, because i don’t know what to expect after the typhoon – will there any electricity? Water? Or is still open?…

And to my delight, the inn was open and clean. And when we got to our room – i booked a room for 6 persons – it was so huge, as in spacious, and i think it could accommodate more than 6 persons because the bed could have two people sleeping on it.

In that room, there were 6 beds (2 people can sleep on it),2 shower rooms (no hot showers that time or the heater doesn’t work-not sure ), 1 toilet, kitchen with a small fridge, dining room, living room with a cable tv.

And for food, you could order from the inn (in fairness, they have big servings. Costs around 100-150) or you could opt to eat from food establishments (mc donalds).

They have accommodating and very nice staff also.

Definitely will be staying here next time with my family.

TripAdvisor – June 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night, on our way to Cebu from Boracay. The location is very good, near airport, walking distance to market and the only shopping place in Kalibo. The staff was friendly. Don’t expect anything other than the basics which was all we wanted. We took the room with 2 double beds. It was clean and spacious with hot shower. The air con worked fine but wifi in the room was weak.

TripAdvisor – May 15, 2014

We stayed for for 1 night in this hotel from Boracay to our flight back to Manila. The room that we got is spacious and clean. About 10 to 15 min ride via tricycle from the airport. Walking distance to the market but not so much restaurant in the area. Room price that we got is 1400, deluxe room with 2 single bed.

TripAdvisor – May 7, 2014

We checked in to this hotel considering that it has a good ranking in all the reviews but…but..well its budget friendly. I would say the the hotel needs some designing and lightning fix since the ambience is really dark. And Dont leave your foods or candies in the side tables since there are ants!

The hotel restaurant is not 24 hours so dont expect to eat your dinner here if your arrival time is around night time. It is not close to the airport and neither it is close to food shops.
At one point I call the room service and ask them if they can buy me some medicine for my tummy ache but they told me at first that no one’s available because they have an event. But after I beg they gave in to my request. Well I thought hotels prioritize their guests’ security and health. O well.

TripAdvisor – May 3, 2014

we needed somewhere to stay for a night while transiting from Boracay and this place fit the bill – it was cheap and decent, but not somewhere to get excited about – room was tiny, but had air-com and wifi. staff were friendly.

TripAdvisor – February 15, 2014

We selected the “top” reviewed hotel in Kalibo as we did not want to arrive late at night at Boracay. Gald we did, others who travelled through after arriving on Tiger flight from Singapore arrived at Boracay only at 8pm !

Service: Staff are totally blur about booking, about where to eat. Did not tell us that the hot water heater light was not working and I called for them to come up.

Value: Poor value although it is low price.

Sleep: Comfortable beds.

Clealiness: Clean but street outside the hotel is a mess of dirt.

Location: Walking distance to most places.

Rooms: Large, comfortable, basic.

TripAdvisor – January 27, 2014

I paid around £30 for a standard room and wash’t expecting much but the hostel definitely fell far short of my expectations. The staff were quite unhelpful and the room felt dirty. I was told about free Wifi but none was available until I pestered the front desk. After 15 hours of flying I was hoping for something a little less drab. I’ve stayed in plenty of cheaper hostels here that have been of much higher quality.

TripAdvisor – January 12, 2014

For the first three nights of my stay with my boss, we were given the big room on the ground floor. Room was very nice since it is very spacious (heck, even the CR is very spacious!) so you don’t get the feeling of being cramped up. Plus, it is so warm and cozy so you’re guaranteed a good night’s rest. Food is also very good, and they have a mini store filled with Aklan’s best delicacies so you don’t have to go far to see what the province has to offer in terms of food.

Now, let’s talk about location. The hostel is very near to the town plaza (which looks very good especially at night) and the town’s mall (Gaisano). It is also near to public transport terminals to the different towns of Aklan, so if you’re planning to explore Aklan (especially Boracay Island, which is about 2 1/2 hours away if you use the terminal from Kalibo-Caticlan) but want to stay in Kalibo, this hostel is definitely the place to be. Actually, if you are on a tight budget, I would readily recommend this hostel not only because of its rates but because Kalibo:
– is situated in the center of Aklan’s different towns,
– holds one of the province’s airports, so having to tug along all of your luggage to the hostel is not a worry (the hostel is 20 minutes away from Kalibo Int’l. Airport), and
– is plain BEAUTIFUL! Did I mention that Kalibo has some nice tourist attractions of their own? Some of those are the Bakhawan Ecopark, Sampaguita Gardens, and the Tigayon Hill. For me, I was lucky since I was at the province at the time of its Ati-Atihan festival so there were many festivities at the plaza.

The hostel staff were very kind and accommodating. There is always someone in the front desk at all times who is always very happy to assist you with anything, and the other staff are always on call as soon as you need something. When you order food, they encourage you to stay in your room whilst the food is being prepared so you don’t get bored waiting. My workmate and I always get back at the hostel near midnight/midday due to the many festivities opening the Ati-Atihan but even then, the staff still welcome us with a smile.

In the last three nights of our stay, we were transferred to a smaller room in the same floor since someone booked the big room at that time. The room we were transferred to, although a bit smaller than the previous room, was still spacious and cozy, so we were greatly pleased.

To sum it up, this hostel really exceeded my expectations because you get hotel-class treatment and accommodation despite the fact that it is a hostel. A big thanks to all the staff at the hotel for making my stay in Aklan feel like home.

P.S. If I have swayed you into getting this hostel as your place to stay in Kalibo, I recommend asking if you could get rooms 101-103 since those are the nice ones. I cpuld not speak for the other rooms, but I know for a fact that those rooms share a common CR. If you’re worried about that, it is imperative to get one of the three rooms I mentioned. I hope your stay here will be as pleasant as mine was!

TripAdvisor – December 9, 2013

Due to a change in airline schedule, we were forced to stay overnight in Kalibo and we found this hostel thru the internet. We made reservations by phone and we were accommodated.

The room is big and clean, the air conditioner was a bit old and noisy but works fine. The hostel has an emergency generator (which was a good thing since the city was suffering from frequent power outages as an after-effect of Typhoon Haiyan). The staff is very nice and service is good – ask them stuff like where to find the best ‘lechon’ (roast pig) and they’ll be happy to help.

The hostel is located near the public market, a mall and the main avenue. From the hostel, a tricycle ride to the airport will only fetch about P60 (some drivers will say P100 but you can haggle) – as it is not really that far.

For food, you can just venture either to the left or right of the hostel and you will find some nice restaurants a few paces away.

Toilet and bathrooms are ‘common’ but there’s just about 3 rooms on the floor we were at so it was not inconvenient.

Downside: At about dawn, we were awaken by the sound of spilling water outside our window. We thought it was raining but it was something else – probably their water tank overflowing.

TripAdvisor – November 14, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel/hostel from November 7 to 12 after our trip to Boracay. We had originally planned to spend 3 days in Kalibo after our 5-day Boracay vacation in order to enjoy the sights and places in the Aklanon city. Of course, we had not anticipated the arrival of Typhoon Yolanda/Haiyan and “got wind” of it only when we were already in Boracay. Our flight having been cancelled and having been booked for the next available flight on the Nov 12, we stayed in Kalibo longer than we did in Boracay.

We were accommodated in a family room. It was huge, with two king-size beds, a small living room with a large LCD TV, and a large window. The bathroom was decent and the airconditioning was great.

Long story short, we felt the full brunt of Yolanda while staying at the hotel (Nov 8). We Davaoenos don’t experience typhoons, so the experience was one of a kind. Thrilling, even. We stationed ourselves at the edge of one of the king beds in front of the large window and watched Yolanda as it happened, taking photos and videos at various points. There was some water “spraying” through gaps in the window but I would expect some water seepage during typhoons of that magnitude. The hotel was kind enough to send one of their maintenance personnel to clean up the area by the window.

Soon after, the power failed and communication lines were gone. Luckily, the hotel had a generator set ready. They provided power (even for airconditioning!) at intervals during the day and night, with one hour rest periods in between. At evening the next day, they even provided movie entertainment at the hotel’s restaurant.

Of course, there was no chance for us to pursue the original plan of sight-seeing at the place. All the tourist spots have either been damaged or are closed. We did go around the city on foot or via tricycles to eat at various locations, or do our grocery shopping, or withdraw at the few ATMs that were operational. Thanks to the hotel’s central location, getting to different points of the city–by foot or on wheels–was a breeze.

My experience at Ati-Atihan Festival Hostel had been heart warming. The hotel extended all efforts to ensure that guests don’t feel too distressed even at a time of calamity. The front desk personnel–Ken, even the security guards, Tatay and Raymart, the waiters such as Chub, and the rest had been really accommodating and friendly. The owner was also kind enough to give us a discount because we had to extend our stay up to the 12th to catch our rebooked flight back to Davao.

Over-all, I know it’s ironic, but I actually enjoyed my stay at Ati-Atihan Festival Hostel in spite of the calamity that struck the Visayas during our stay.

I will definitely return. Thank you.

TripAdvisor – October 3, 2013

Rooms – clean and big (although, i got the suite so i do not know how other rooms look like) Staff – always smiling, helpful and accommodating. we did not have reservations, but they did everything for my group to be comfortable Breakfast – FREE but basic

TripAdvisor – September 28, 2013

have done some research about the hotel before confirming our stay and it exceeded our expectation!!

Stayed here last month for a 1day-transit stay going back to Manila from Boracay.
Also did some tour in Kalibo City on the day after, details provided by the hotel.
This maybe one of the decent hostel I have ever stayed in !!!
Staffs here are very accommodating including the hotel guard who even provide us some important information about the area. 5 minutes walk near to the Market or Talipapa and another 10 minutes walk to the Gaisano Mall where in you can always buy all your pasalubongs! I suggest to buy from Bread and Butter. Also they got FREE and FAST WIFI !!!

CONS – no elevator.

TripAdvisor – July 29, 2013

Planned a side trip to Kalibo on our way to Boracay and wanted a place that was centrally located, safe, and with affordable rates. Festival Hostel met all our needs. We stayed in a deluxe room which more resembled a hotel rather than hostel since we wanted a private washroom; it was spacious and included a/c, wifi, tv, fridge, and hot breakfast. The bed was comfortable and the entire space was spotless. We didn’t spend much time during the day but the staff we met were friendly and gracious. They even arranged shuttle service to the Caticlan jetty port to get to Boracay. They also appear to have a conference/party area for small gatherings. All in all, a pleasant stay and we would definitely recommend our family and friends to check it out!

TripAdvisor – July 9, 2013

The name itself states that it is a hostel so don’t expect any frills from this place. It is located in the center of town near the public market. This means that trykes are easy to come by and there are many options for cheap eats around.

The rooms are okay. Mine was barely 20 USD for a double with a/c, tv and its own bathroom with hot/cold shower, so I can’t really complain. That said, if you’re looking for comfort, then this is not your place. The room and toilet was clean but run down.

The staff was friendly and accommodating.

If you’re looking for a cheap option before traveling to Boracay then this place would do well enough I think.

TripAdvisor – June 24, 2013

Affordable accommodation, friendly staff, location Is very ideal since it is situated near Public market, Gaisano Mall and airport, clean room and quiet place to stay. But our only comment is their restroom which is common for 3 rooms. Not that comfortable with the rest room since you have to go out of your room whenever you want to use the rest room. But overall staying in Ati-Atihan Hostel was worth the price.

TripAdvisor – May 10, 2013

This hotel is situated in the center of the city, near the mall, market and cathedral. Twin room is ok, clean but it will only provide one 10 g soap for a room good for two. I am writing this so you can bring your own soap ( funny though). Generally, it is ok to stay here.

TripAdvisor -May 10, 2013

An ideal hotel for travellers on transit to Boracay and vice-versa. Reached Kalibo quite late in the afternoon on 28April. Stayed 1 night before continuing our journey to Boracay the next morning. Comfortable room although small, overall clealiness are quite good. Complimentary set breakfast are provided which we can’t complained for the price that we paid for. Located about 500 metres or 15mins walk or 8pesos tricycle ride to Ceres Liner bus station where bus or van(100pesos)are available to Caticlan jetty.

TripAdvisor – April 6, 2013

Whole town is without electricity unless you have a functional generator. We were sent here from another hotel, which was Kalibo Hotel. They only had a family deluxe which was a twin (philipino) and two singles. The cost was 1800 pesos, with breakfast (120 pesos) included. Wi fi, TV and aircon for one night on the way to Boracay. Staff were very pleasant and professional. I would stay here again.

TripAdvisor – March 23, 2013

Yes I like it ! Everything in walking distance . Good beddings and towels . But room is very simple . I stayed in basic twin room on the 2 flow . this is big size room –and the price is ok for two or more people if you use extra beds . But expensive for single overnight stay in the town.

TripAdvisor – March 20, 2013

Stayed here with friends last March 14-16, 2013 and we were happy with our experience in this hostel.

Location-wise, hostel is around 10-15 minutes away from the Kalibo airport. It’s near the city’s public market and close to some of the city’s most-recommended places to eat. You can get there via a chartered trike from the airport at around 50-100PHP or around 10-15PHP/head if not chartered.

Hostel is average but it’s a good value for your money, especially if you are on a budget. At 500Php/head for a triple room, you already get a free breakfast. Not bad for a one-night stay.

It is also clean and staff are courteous and attentive to the guests.

They allow phone booking but they require 20% downpayment to secure your reservation. Upon arrival, they require you to pay the balance in full already.

Over all, I would recommend this hostel for those people who want to spend some time in Kalibo. For those going to Boracay, you might also want to consider spending your first night in Kalibo at this hostel before you head to Boracay, the next day. 🙂

TripAdvisor – February 5, 2013

We stayed overnight in the said hostel in order for us to catch the early flight to Kalibo Airport the next day. Twin Hostel was good enough, for the amount of Php700, I think it is okay. Nothing fancy about the room. Room has 2 single beds, TV with cable, A/C. Comfort Room was shared by other room, goodthing is, there are no other guests during our stay. Location is good, you can have quick access to Kalibo Market, drugstores and fast food chains. It was a peaceful overnight stay at Ati-Atihan Festival Hostel.

Staff was accomodating, receptionist is friendly, security guard helps us find the transpo service to Kalibo Airport at reasonable price. Pasalubong Station at the ground offers affordable foodies. For the amount we paid for, I think it is okay. As I was saying, hotel itself may not offer the luxurious stay since this is designed for budget concious, this is ideal for people who needs to catch an early flight at Kalibo Airport and needs to sleep for a couple of hours and relax.

TripAdvisor – February 1, 2013

A pretty basic, no-frills hostel. As other people have said, it was clean, cheap and affordable, and perfect if you have an early morning flight out of Kalibo and just need somewhere to doss for the night. It’s about 10-15 minutes from the airport by trike, which conveniently tend to be waiting for you outside the hostel at 5am as standard. Can’t complain overall.

TripAdvisor – January 7, 2013

The girl on reception is very friendly and helpful. It was nice to see good working shower after one week in Boracay hostel) and We also were lucky not to meet mice and cockroach) The rates for the room include simple decent breakfast.

TripAdvisor – January 4, 2013

Clean, cheap and affordable. First time for me in a hostel. I’m impressed that they have all, or almost all, of the basic things I need. Comfortable bed. Cable tv. WiFi. Clean bathroom. Breakfast. And friendly staff. Their location is strategic, because it’s near the city center, market and mall. This is the place to stay if you are the adventurer type, and not the traveler who demands a 5-star quality service! I’ll definitely come back to Ati-Atihan Festival Hostel! 🙂

TripAdvisor – December 29, 2012

On our way home from Boracay to Manila, Zest Air announced the cancellation of flights due to typhoon Quinta, 20 minutes after we called them and assured us that they have no cancelled flights. Zest Air did not take care of our accommodation as they claimed it was force majeure, so we have no choice but to seek the help of the Department of Tourism to look for a hotel and they recommended to us this hostel.

At 10pm there was brownout and we were advised to turn off the TV and the aircon was automatically shut off. The windows were padlocked so we couldn’t open them. The room temperature was ok at first so we did not feel the discomfort and slept as we were terribly tired.

In the morning, I could hardly breath as there was no ventilation. There was no water in the bathroom so we used bottled water to brush our teeth. At the breakfast area, we were told that we have no advance order despite them phoning us twice the night before. It ended up serving what was available which I personally did not appreciate. It was a sort of a kiddie meal and there was no second serving, even the instant coffee.

After breakfast I checked if water was already available in the bathroom, but negative. I asked the reception what action they can do to provide us with water. They simply blamed the water district and said they cannot do anything. They even pointed to me some guests checking out (local and foreigners) without taking a bath. I insisted that they do something to provide us with water (6 of us) because we are not used to go out without washing ourselves, but the staff were consistent on blaming the water district and said they could do nothing. Their untidy cook even joined (in an arrogant and disrespectful manner) in defending the hostel that it was not their fault that there was no water supply.

It was only after I talked to their supervisor that they agreed to provide us with one 5-gallon bottled water. I was not sure where the water came from because it was not sealed. So far it served the purpose of brushing our teeth and sharing the water among the six of us to have a quick bath. At checkout, I complained about the rate they charged us because it was for an airconditioned room although we had no aircon the whole night. The supervisor was likewise consistent that she could not do anything to give us at least a discounted rate. She said she was just a supervisor and not empowered to do so. To cut the story short, there was nothing we could do to insist our rights as their guests. Obviously, Ati-Atihan Hostel is not prepared for situations like this and their staff are mere followers to-the-letter what the management dictates to them. It seems they care only after their profit and not after the satisfaction of their guests.

Sort of advise: To avoid disappointment, as much as possible, avoid small hostels like Ati-Atihan as they lack prepared for disasters like typhoon Quinta.

TripAdvisor – September 30, 2012

The hostel is clean. Staff are friendly and accommodating. We had the Family Economy accommodation. The room is huge with 2 double beds, has a small table with two chairs very useful for my 2 kids tagging along. The room is provided with cable tv too. The breakfast that comes with it were delish especially their longgonisa (brought some back to home). Location seems accessible and very close to the airport. One downside is the wifi. Really disappointed with this because there’s nothing really to do and we just wanna kill the time. And, before we booked this hotel at agoda, we’re amazed with a lot of good reviews as to the accommodation and wifi connection. Even at the lobby, its as slow as snail and sometimes, zero. Oh well, we just really need to spend the night to catch our flight home to Davao the next day. So we won’t have to rush from Boracay on the day of the flight. Still, I would like to come here though.

TripAdvisor – August 20, 2012

For the price, location and service, no Hotel can beat Ati-atihan Festival Hostel in Kalibo. It’s our third visit and we’ll keep coming back. Wi-fi is also strong inside the rooms. the Hotel is near the street but you can’t hear cars buzzing.

TripAdvisor – May 28, 2012

We have been only 1 night at this place. But simply to say: that’s value for money. Pure friendly staff, very clean rooms – we were absolutely satisfied with this hostel. Actually some so called hotels are much worse. Ati-Atihan Hostel could be better firm as a hotel. Thanks guys! We would surely come again to your place!

Couple (Philippines) – July 28, 2012

(Rating 9.7) Service with a smile. The rooms are very clean!
Near the Kalibo Airport, very clean, the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and helpful, their WiFi is fast and we got more than what we paid for!

Our stay may have been short(less than 12hrs) because we were just looking for a place to stay while the airport is still close. When we arrived they helped us out of the van, carried our things and showed us our rooms. They were very clear on explaining their terms and very helpful when we asked the places where we could have a dinner. One of the great things about this hotel is they have their own snack center because they own a bakery! Their snacks are way cheaper than the others so if you’re on the hunt for food to share, buy it from them they have it in boxes so you wont have problems with them getting crushed with the luggage. Lastly they helped us find a ride when we checked out at around 4:30am. We would have stayed longer if we didn’t have an engagement the next day.

Guest

I booked this hostel not expecting too much, I chose it for its price and proximity to Kalibo airport. My family and I just needed a place to rest for a few hours before our flight going back to Manila. We were pleasantly surprised because of the warm greetings from the staff and the facility met what we needed and more. They even arranged for our tricycle ride at 1.30am to the airport. My favorite part is their dining area, it was very clean and they serve good food for a very reasonable price. I will definitely book this hostel again and recommend to friends who will need a place to stay in Kalibo in the future. Great staff and value for money.

Guest

The place is good, the crew are nice and it’s a good place to relax before going back to Manila after a tiring escapade from Boracay. You won’t be stressed and worry too much about the time because it’s just a few minutes away from the airport.

Guest – Novice Nomad (USA) – Dec 29, 2011

This place was a great hostel. The people were very nice, you get a choice of breakfast in the morning. It was extremely clean and it had hot water in the shower! It’s only ten or so minutes from the Kalibo airport, so if you have an early flight it is definitely the place to stay. If I’m ever in Kalibo again, this is where I will stay.

Guest

We stayed at their new building overnight and we were very pleased with it. Very clean and spacious. My kids are happy. It is a budget hotel with five star service and accommodation. All the staff that we met were super especially the front desk personnel, Jackie. Thank you so much Jackie and all Ati-Atihan Hostel staff. They even helped us with our flight check in going back to Clark because I forgot to print our return itinerary. Good location too. Close to the airport and walking distance to the market. Will definitely stay here again and will recommend to friends. More power and keep it up! ….thank you.

Guest – Novice Nomad (Sweden) – October 17, 2011

There are not many places to stay at in Kalibo but this is probably one of the best. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and the premises are secure. It is close to the small shopping center in Kalibo where a few stores and a few fast food joints are located.